Options

Product composition - three legged stool

Don KondraDon Kondra Registered Users Posts: 630 Major grins
edited May 18, 2011 in Technique
Greetings,

This is a recent acquisition of mine, a curly maple stool made by Michael Hosaluk.

Here lies my conundrum coolsmiley.gif

Frequently I am asked to provide one shot of a piece and what usually works best is a 3/4 profile.

As a woodworker I feel this profile doesn't necessarily show off the woods beauty to best advantage. And in this case the composition is complicated by the fact there are three rungs on the stool.

With any other view converging lines come into play, ie., the bottom rungs may criss cross each other. Something that may work but I try to avoid if possible.

Stoollowerangle-1.jpg

This higher angle does show the character of the wood of the seat better but I feel the image isn't quite as attractive or successful.

Stoolhigherangle-1.jpg

I feel I've allowed myself to be handicapped by the technical aspects of the shape of the piece and need to explore other angles.

FYI - the lighting on these is preliminary, I haven't added a boom/bg yet.

Thoughts ?

Cheers, Don

Comments

• Options
    puzzledpaulpuzzledpaul Registered Users Posts: 1,621 Major grins
    edited May 7, 2011
    As a somewhat lapsed woodworker (3D / multi-layer puzzles) I can appreciate the problems of getting all relevant info / details across in a single pic.

People selling tripods (on fleabay) have similar issues, too.

Might it be worth considering a pic (or pics) within the main pic - where the smaller image(s) just show a part of the most highly figured part(s) - to give the viewer a 'flavour' of the whole?

(and if they show sufficent interest, you'd then be able to show them a larger pic of said area?)

I'd vote for the first pic too, btw.

Just shows the problem of getting across the sheer beauty of a well-made and finished piece of woodwork via a pic when other aspects like feel / smell etc play such a large part :)