Looking for unbiased critique

devmcdevmc Registered Users Posts: 11 Big grins
edited May 10, 2011 in People
This is my very first post in the world of photographers. There is so much talent on this forum that is inspiring, and intimidating. I am searching for a mentor as I am self taught, and it's hard to find while working full time and raising two young boys. So I'm hoping for some direction. I'm also still working on what kind of photography is my forte. I love edgier and "real" photography. More of a photo-journalistic approach. I have a hard time posing people; that might be more from lack of experience and trial and error. Thank you for viewing, and providing me a cyber mentor-ship!

Comments

• devmcdevmc Registered Users Posts: 11 Big grins
    edited May 7, 2011
    Also - how do you post more than image on a new thread? So much to learn!
  • NikolaiNikolai Registered Users Posts: 19,035 Major grins
    edited May 7, 2011
    devmc wrote: »
    Also - how do you post more than image on a new thread? So much to learn!
    http://www.dgrin.com/showthread.php?t=18703
    "May the f/stop be with you!"
  • Wil DavisWil Davis Registered Users Posts: 1,692 Major grins
    edited May 7, 2011
    Nice idea! but oh how I wish you hadn't chopped off half your main subject! The dark centre on the right of the picture leads the eye to the out-of-focus part of the picture; but my eye keeps coming back to the chopped of part of the image, making me think why oh why did he/she ruin this picture? The best lesson is to look at pictures which work well, and ask yourself why do they work?, what makes them work? and how can I get the same effect? Sorry, your picture had great potential, but you might just as well have taken a knife to it!

Sorry, but you did ask!

ne_nau.gif

- Wil
    "…………………" - Marcel Marceau
    edited May 7, 2011
    Wil Davis wrote: »
    Sorry, your picture had great potential, but you might just as well have taken a knife to it!