Options

First time shooting baseball

BradfordBennBradfordBenn Registered Users Posts: 2,506 Major grins
edited May 9, 2011 in Sports
I did something I have not done in over a decade, which is go to a baseball stadium to watch a baseball game. :rofl Typically I am there for work, before the season or if during the season it is usually not for "fun".

I had a chance to go for a few innings to watch the St. Louis Cardinals host the Florida Marlins at Busch Stadium. I did some reading and checking and made sure I could bring my camera and lenses with me. As long as everything fit in the 16x16x9 inch bag. Yes, I was searched but as long as the bag fit in the box it was allowed. :thumb

So I started shooting, I did make some mistakes that resulted in the majority of the images being not very presentable. The main mistake was realizing just how fast the action would be. The settings I was using were just not fast enough. However the chimping on the camera did not always show the issues. When I got to a bigger monitor I could see them much easier. I know for next time to go to a faster shutter speed, the camera could have handled it as the ISO was set at 100 so I easily could have gone up to 200 without adding much if any noise. I also think next time I am ready to go all manual.

I did probably about three hours of total processing on 19 images. This included culling the 200+ images down and then cropping and running through Nik Dfine2 and Viveza2.

The entire gallery is located here http://photos.bradfordbenn.com/Travel/St-Louis-May-2011/ a few of the highlights though:

#1img_3909-M.jpg

#2img_3911-edit-M.jpg

#3img_3913-edit-2-M.jpg

#4img_3967-M.jpg

#5img_4021-edit-M.jpg

Constructive Criticism is welcome.

Thanks for looking
-=Bradford

Pictures | Website | Blog | Twitter | Contact

Comments

• Options
    bbjonesbbjones Registered Users Posts: 234 Major grins
    edited May 9, 2011
    Nice stuff!