Options

Ranking relative difficulties of shooting different sports

Molotov EverythingMolotov Everything Registered Users Posts: 211 Major grins
edited January 28, 2012 in Sports
So recently, I've decided I want to branch out and learn more about sports photography. I started shooting roller derby bouts because a friend of mine was on the team, and it's been a lot of fun so naturally I'd like to expand to other sports.
I was thinking of different sports and trying to hypothesize how difficult they would be to shoot. So what I'm hoping here is if you guys that do have experience with these sports could tell me how close to (or far from) the mark my assumptions are. My 1 to 10 scale of difficulty is relative, based only against the other sports on the scale.

1 point of difficulty:
Bowling: you know exactly where the action is going to be ahead of time. At the line during the release, and down at the pins when the ball hits. The ball doesn't travel very fast and the bowlers make a slow, rhythmic approach to the line.

2 points:
Tennis: The court isn't that big and I think if you can get a spot by the net you can cover both sides without any super long glass, and the action is easy to predict, the ball goes from one side to another and the action alternates with it.
Unique challenge: serves are really damn fast.

3 points:
Boxing/MMA/other martial arts: I'm thinking these are easy because the ring is small, there's only 2 people competing at a time, and they have to be in close proximity to have any action going on. The action is more spontaneous. You never know what punch is going to be a powerhouse until it's too late so you almost have to try to shoot them all.

4 points:
Volleyball: getting in to team sports now, that means the action can jump from one person to another but in volleyball at least the court is smaller than, say, basketball.

5 points: