Options

Photo artist request for opinions and advice

PhotoartsPhotoarts Registered Users Posts: 9 Beginner grinner
edited May 17, 2011 in Mind Your Own Business
Fellow photographers:
I am new to Smugmug and even newer to Dgrin but would appreciate your opinions and advice for a 'part time' photographer wanting to market his art. Please see my galleries at www.nashery.com . My Smugmug name is photoarts.

First I am thankful for all the great advice on this forum but see a few key items missing that I was hoping to bounce off you and get some advice. Most of what is present is about shooting sport events for kids or wedding family gatherings etc. How about simple art for the bare walls of peoples home and offices. How about galleries that sell art. Is there any money on that even for part time artist who would like to market his art?
I have done some reseach in the business that people spend about 50B a year covering thier bare wall even though I understand most of that may be paintings and watercolors etc. photography as a small percentage of that would still be great if it was simply art! Is there a viable market out there? Do people still buy landscapes and Micros?
I just got started with a Pro account at Smugmug and have a lot to learn about the business but then again photography is not what is feeding the kids, if I could write off some business expenses for a year or two and then get profitable just enough to buy gear and get some cash in two to three years I wouls still be happy, is that a possibility and does anyone have experiance out there that could give me suggestions?
I would also appreciate your opinion on my art at www.nashery.com friends tell me I have a great eye for composition but I am going to find out if that is enough for a part time business or not.

Opinins? Advice? Business dos and don'ts? Art of photography dos and don't?
Thank you!

Comments

• Options
    zoomerzoomer Registered Users Posts: 3,688 Major grins
    edited May 10, 2011