The business end of soccer photography

jheftijhefti Registered Users Posts: 734 Major grins
edited May 25, 2011 in Mind Your Own Business
I need some help from the pros out there...I have been shooting soccer for several years now, mostly U15+ club teams, high school, and college. I have been doing this for free at my kids' events, their schools, and the local college (and my alma mater) that has one of the best women's teams in the country. I do this for free just because it's fun. I have a day job (which I really like) and am not really looking to make sports photography my main career.

That said, I have been asked by a number of teams and schools to shoot their games, and they are willing to pay for it. So far, I have declined by saying that I am too busy (which is mostly true), but am curious how others charge for shooting these events. My first inclination is to just charge a flat rate and let the customer have unlimited access to the originals--at least for the club teams and sub-collegiate schools. I know this might not be the most profitable way to proceed, but aside from shooting and editing, I really want no more involvement with the business side. (I run businesses during the day, so I want to keep this just a hobby, albeit perhaps a hobby that at least pays for itself.)

I was also asked by a local paper to shoot an exhibition game between a big European team and an MLS team, courtesy of a reporter-friend-fan who works at the paper. Any ideas how to charge for this? Part of me is just happy that I'll have a good spot to shoot from--press pass and all--and that is enough remuneration. Still, I want to at least appear professional, even if I am not.

Any thoughts are appreciated!!

Comments

• MileHighAkoMileHighAko Registered Users Posts: 413 Major grins
    edited May 18, 2011