Upload Size

LRussoPhotoLRussoPhoto Registered Users Posts: 458 Major grins
edited May 24, 2011 in SmugMug Pro Sales Support
I am fairly new to Smugmug and have a Pro account. What size do most of you use to upload your photos? Smugmug says you can upload smaller file sizes to save time then when someone purchases you can replace the photo with a bigger size, but if someone wants to purchase a digital image you dont get the option to replace the photo. I usually take my photos in 3216x2136, Nikons med size. I would like to upload my files in something like 1800x1196 but feel that if someone purchases a dig, they will be getting jipped out of a big image. What do you guys think?
D300s D90
Nikon 18-105mm,Nikon 18-200mm,Sigma 24-70mm f2.8, Sigma 70-200mm f/2.8

http://LouRusso.SmugMug.com

Comments

• SamirDSamirD Registered Users Posts: 3,474 Major grins
    edited May 18, 2011
    I upload full resolution overnight and then cull the next day before publishing the gallery. Others have a different workflow, but most people just upload the full resolution. Unless you're under tight deadlines (<24hrs) and have 2000+ photos, you should be able to do this within your workflow.
    Pictures and Videos of the Huntsville Car Scene: www.huntsvillecarscene.com
    Want faster uploading? Vote for FTP!
  • LRussoPhotoLRussoPhoto Registered Users Posts: 458 Major grins
    edited May 18, 2011
    SamirD wrote: »
    I upload full resolution overnight and then cull the next day before publishing the gallery. Others have a different workflow, but most people just upload the full resolution. Unless you're under tight deadlines (<24hrs) and have 2000+ photos, you should be able to do this within your workflow.

Sorry for the dumb question but what do you mean by cull?
    D300s D90

edited May 18, 2011
    Sorry for the dumb question but what do you mean by cull?