Options

My first 'gig'

silvertanksilvertank Registered Users Posts: 15 Big grins
edited May 22, 2011 in Technique
I'm new to DSLR photography (started this past Christmas 2010) and have been to a couple of classes and put about 10,000 clicks on my Canon 7d. Yesterday was my first paying job. I had no time to plan because I found out the night before, so in a hurry I had to put a cheap package together. This was for my son's T-Ball team. It was 12 kids and their coach.

It was my first time at this particular field and it was 5:30pm (we have good sunlight until around 7:00pm). There were a lot of trees. As I was walking to the baseball field, I was looking around and trying to think of a good place to do the shoot. I wasn't quite sure and I was a little nervous too. Hmmm...should I put them in direct sunlight or complete shade? Facing the sun or 90 degrees from it.

I chose to have them stand with the sun to their left. A shadow would be cast on the right side of their faces and body, but I thought my flash would take care of that but it didn't. I had 2 baseball bats laying on the ground (cris-crossed) along with a baseball helmet, glove, and ball. The kids were standing and I shot their entire body in order to get the sports equipment in the shot. I didn't like it at all, so I cropped them out (throwing away more than half of the image.

I have a Canon 7D & 17-55 2.8L with a SpeedLite 580EX II. My images are not as sharp as I expected. I don't think they came out well enough at all, but that may be my opinion, so i'm posting one pic that I has cropped and processed. Please give me your opinions and advice so that I can learn for my next job that is coming up in 2 weeks.

i-ZMbx5H4-XL.jpg

Comments

• Options
    SamSam Registered Users Posts: 7,419 Major grins
    edited May 18, 2011
    Really hard to comment with only one image. Can you post a link to several of the originals?

Did you shoot RAW?