Hawaii Beach Shots with Flash

DougReddingDougRedding Registered Users Posts: 28 Big grins
edited May 27, 2011 in People
Aloha from Oahu friends.

I've been goofing around with my 430EXii flash during the day. I'm severely conflicted here and would like you all to settle my internal mind debate. I think the below look good, maybe too good? As in fake. When I shot these swing pictures without flash my kids melted into the scene. When i experimented with flash, they really popped out of the scene. My Facebook friends, family and non-photography friends seem to enjoy the effect but i'm not sure if it's something I would want to put into practice when I do a pay-for shoot with a client.

I'm very new to flash photography techniques and embarrasingly enough, seriously, just last night after owning my Canon 7D and Canon 430EXii for over a year did i figure out I could use the flash off camera as a slave and fire it with my 7D's pop-up flash! Geez, i guess i should read the little booklet that comes with stuff, eh?

Anyway, always appreciate the C&C from you all..We're here for another 5 days and I plan shooting another 1,000 pics or so that I will share my fav's here.

Mahalo,

Doug

DJ-Swing-XL.jpg

IMG3862-XL.jpg

Demi-Swing-XL.jpg
FAN Page: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Doug-Dont-Do-Weddings-Photography/100356406711320?ref=ts
Canon 7D - Canon lenses: 50mm 1.4, 28-300 4-5.6 L IS, 17-85 4-5.6 IS, 28-135 3.5-5.6 IS - Coming Soon: 70-200 L IS II, 17-55 2.8 IS

Comments

• grimacegrimace Registered Users Posts: 1,534 Major grins
    edited May 21, 2011
    Doug,

These are great family photos!! I'm surprised nobody else has jumped in and commented.

Of the three, I think the lighting levels are best in image #2. It matches the background perfectly and doesn't give a flash feel at all.

#3 is great. The light coming off of the flash seems to be even in dristribution.