Advice Needed!

El ComatEl Comat Registered Users Posts: 51 Big grins
edited May 27, 2011 in Cameras
Hello fellow grinners!

I'm shooting my first wedding in a month (favour for my wife's friend), and I'm starting to wonder if my setup is adequate. I have a gripped XSi, 580 EX II, 17-55 2.8, 50 1.8, 75-300 non-IS and will be borrowing a 70-200 2.8 IS for the day. Would I be wise to add a second body for a backup (or just to have two ready to shoot at all times)? I'm thinking about adding another XSi or perhaps a T1i/T2i. It's a rookie photog's dream day....outdoor ceremony followed by a reception in "The Cavern", which is dark and has rock for walls/ceiling :help. I was thinking of buying a gripped T2i for the wedding, then selling both the XSi and T2i to fund a 7d. Then if another wedding/event came up that required a backup, I'd buy another low cost Rebel for my 2nd camera. Any thoughts? I'm new to the "for hire" side of things and open to all suggestions, whether on gear or technique!

Adam

Comments

• ThatCanonGuyThatCanonGuy Registered Users Posts: 1,778 Major grins
    edited May 25, 2011
    I wouldn't shoot a wedding for any friend or family member; if something goes wrong your relationship may be in danger.

ESPECIALLY IF YOU'VE NEVER SHOT A WEDDING BEFORE.

Hire an assistant for a few hundred bucks to back you up. It's well worth it.
  • ziggy53ziggy53 Super Moderators Posts: 24,078 moderator
    edited May 25, 2011
    I regard a second body and lens as a "necessity" for a wedding. During the ceremony there is no time for error and if something acts up you need to be instantly ready with an alternate system. For other times you can have different lenses on each body allowing rapid changes of FOV. (I'm doing a wedding in 2 Saturdays and I will be the third photographer. I will have at least 4 camera bodies with me.)