Options

BOOK: The DAM Book by Peter Krogh

Tutorials and ReviewsTutorials and Reviews Registered Users, Retired Mod Posts: 138
edited May 18, 2005 in Book and Gear Reviews
[imgr]http://dgrin.smugmug.com/photos/i-DvLtB9K/0/S/i-DvLtB9K-S.jpg[/imgr]The DAM Book: Digital Asset Management for Photographers

Book by Peter Krogh, review by dandill

An apparently unavoidable consequence of digital photography is the relatively rapid accumulation of a large number of images, and with it the challenge of keeping them organized. I have used the approach of building a computer folder hierarchy organized around subjects, making sure RAW image files were sensibly named to avoid duplicate names, and then organizing all work within a folder into subfolders there.

I could also then back up all of my photographic work simply by replicating the folder hierarchy on backup disks and another computer, and keeping thing synchronized with backup software.

I have been working this way for several years, and feeling that I had a sensible approach, Then, about a month ago, by chance I stumbled on a quite nice image that I had completely forgotten that I had made. This made me think that perhaps it was time to explore tools to catalog my images so that it would be less likely to "forget" things.

Quite by chance, at the same time I came across Peter Krogh's book "The DAM Book: Digital Asset Management for Photographers." The book lays out the requirements of a robust, scalable (and so for small to very large numbers of images) DAM workflow, He then goes through his particular implementation of such a workflow, based on Adobe Bridge CS2, Adobe Camera Raw 3, and iView Media Pro 3.