New to forum, glamour senior portraits

TalblondmeTalblondme Registered Users Posts: 2 Beginner grinner
edited June 6, 2011 in People
This photo is unedited. I'm open to C&C. I am completely new to photography in the digital world. Last time I posed anyone but my own children has been almost 25 years. This was from my first attempts at someone other then the kids. When I resized the pic to post I lost some of the sharpness. I don't like her missing shoulder

Comments

• TalblondmeTalblondme Registered Users Posts: 2 Beginner grinner
    edited June 6, 2011
    i-hrrTBc8-L.jpg
    i-NNLMZ43-L.jpg
    i-n249JBB-L.jpg
  • ScootersbabygirlScootersbabygirl Registered Users Posts: 224 Major grins
    edited June 6, 2011
    Welcome to the forum! The first photo seems really soft. The other ones have potential but they just don't pop for me. Good job getting out there and trying!
  • divamumdivamum Registered Users Posts: 9,021 Major grins
    edited June 6, 2011
    wave.gif Welcome!

(btw, when you post images, convention here is to number them so it makes it easier for folks to comment - just FYI :)

The first one doesn't work for me - I'm not diggin' on the pose, the light has given her "raccoon eyes" that are in shadow, her hair is in her face, and it's one of those frustrating "almost but not quite" kinda shots - I'd look for others from that part of the shoot.

#2 The light is fine in this (was your flash on camera? You've done well with fill, but get that flash OFF camera for even better results!). However, the tree position makes it look like it's growing out of her head; also, I think the shape of the collar of her jacket makes her look wider than she is.

#3 and 4 have real potential, IMO. Three would have been better without the horizon/change in background, but even with that I think it's a nice shot of a pretty young lady. Set a new black and white point in post (tutorial here, and even if you don't use PS, the "theory" applies to any editing package)