Options

Canon 24-70mm L VS 24-105mm L

BakkoBakko Registered Users Posts: 58 Big grins
edited June 8, 2011 in Weddings
I'm a newbie wedding photographer and I'm looking to add my bag of optical tricks, but Im completely torn between the Canon 24-70mm f/2.8 and the 24-105mm f/4.

If it helps, here is what is inside my bag:
Canon 60D
Canon 85mm 1.8
Sigma 50mm 1.4
Canon 17-40mm L
Rokinon 8mm 3.5 Fisheye
Canon Speedlite EX 430(I think thats the number).

Now i know the 24-105 has the IS which is nice, and the 24-70 has the lower f stop. I just want to see what you, more experienced wedding photographers prefer to use.

-Bakko
5DMKII - 60D - Canon 27-70mm - Canon 10-22mm - Canon 85mm f/1.8
580 EX II - 430 EX II

Comments

• Options
    NeilLNeilL Registered Users Posts: 4,201 Major grins
    edited June 6, 2011
    neither

you want the EF 70-200 f2.8L IS USM

you need more length than you've got in other stuff, you need as fast as possible, you want the option to hand hold, and you want no compromise IQ

easy!:D

Neil
    "Snow. Ice. Slow!" "Half-winter. Half-moon. Half-asleep!"

http://www.behance.net/brosepix
  • Options
    ssimmonsphotossimmonsphoto Registered Users Posts: 424 Major grins
    edited June 6, 2011
    NeilL wrote: »
    neither

you want the EF 70-200 f2.8L IS USM

you need more length than you've got in other stuff, you need as fast as possible, you want the option to hand hold, and you want no compromise IQ

easy!:D

Neil
    Ditto. The 70-200 was my first lens purchase when I just started out with weddings. I cannot imagine not having the length. And, given what else you have, you don't have anything that even comes close. And the 105 wouldn't cut it either.
    Website (hosted by Zenfolio after 6.5 years with SmugMug) | Blog (hosted by Zenfolio) | Tave User
  • Options
    Moogle PepperMoogle Pepper Registered Users Posts: 2,950 Major grins
    edited June 6, 2011