Options

1D vs 5D

JamokeJamoke Registered Users Posts: 257 Major grins
edited October 9, 2005 in Cameras
K, I'm extremely new to the canon scene, and viewed a fairly vicious war faring between the nikonians and andy. The 1D's were said to be able to recieve 11-12 stops of dynamic lighting. Now here's my delimma.

I'm going to invest in a few canon products. My wife is the advocate so I didn't need to talk her into spending the money. I plan on buying a 5D, and a 20D as a backup body, as well as a few IS-USM lenses. Now, I would definately get the battery grip for the 5D, because I like the feel of the 1D models. Oh, yeah, my dilemma ....

I don't want to debate (here) the benefits of Nikon vs. Canon (as I am giving up the nikonian faith and going digital), but I'm wondering if it's worth the extra $700 for the 1D. I've heard that the 5D is only capable of 5 stops of Dynamic lighting. Is it true that the 1D can process twice as much range of light? I understand the price, and MP differences, but if the dynamic range is that different I might consider the price difference as being inconsequential. :D

Similarly, perhaps this would be an appropriate place to articulate the finer differences between the two canon models for me.
Mine: Canon 20D, 50 f1.8 II, 28-105 II, 70-200 f2.8L, T 70-300 Macro, T 2X expander, 12-24 Sigma
Hers: Sony SR10, (Soon Canon 5D MKII), 85 f1.8, 28-135 USM, Stroboframe, Manfrotto NeoTec
Ours: Pair of 580 EX, Lensbaby, Studio Alien Bees, Son & TWO Daughters

Comments

• Options
    luckyrweluckyrwe Registered Users Posts: 952 Major grins
    edited October 7, 2005
    I think this is a very good topic. The 5D seems to be compared to the 20D at every turn. I can sell my 1DII and get very close to the 5D price, making it a veritable swap. I have not done so yet for some reasons listed above.