Clapper Rail from new member

tkerrtkerr Registered Users Posts: 47 Big grins
edited June 13, 2011 in Wildlife
First thing I guess I should introduce myself.
My name is Tim Kerr, Originally from Minnesota I now reside on the east coast of North Carolina, USA. I am a photography hobbyist who enjoys astronomy photography, weather photography, as well as nature and wildlife.
I'll do my best to participate as often as possible in the forums. I hope to learn from other members and possibly return the favor by helping others when I can.
With that said let me start by sharing some of my more recent pictures.

Up early on Sunday morning (29 May, 2011) to head out to Cedar Point Nature Trail. I arrived about 30 minuted before Sunrise with the Crescent Moon and Jupiter dominating the eastern sky.
To bad I wasn't set to take a picture of that scene.

With my camera in hand I started hiking back on the trail where my first encounter was a Snowy Egret. At that moment it was about 15 minutes before Sunrise but I managed to get a few pictures anyways, before it flew off.

I continued on deeper into the estuary to find more objects of interest, when about a 1/2 hour after Sunrise I started hearing the familiar call of the Clapper Rail. I hear them quite often, but rarely get a chance to actually see them.
I slowly and quietly approached the area where the sound was coming from. Barely visible, she was hiding just off a muddy path near to the water within the tall marsh grasses. All of a sudden to my surprise she decided to come out and give me a chance to get some pictures. At first she started to head away from me, but then after a few minutes she returned. I was knelt down on the muddy path remaining as still as possible so I would spook her away.