Then and now...

M38A1M38A1 Registered Users Posts: 1,317 Major grins
edited August 10, 2011 in Other Cool Shots
I've never tried a "then and now" type shot before, yet a friend asked if I'd give it a whirl.

Lee purchased a 1962 Honda Superhawk new and has had it ever since. That's crowding some 48 years with the same bike. A few weeks ago, I was approached to try and recreate an 'updated' version of a picture taken from August 1963 of Lee and the bike. Always up for a challenge, I said I'd give it a try.

So today, Lee and I met at the location where the picture was taken. He grew up in the house where the photographer was standing in the initial shot, and I asked the owner if I could take some shots from the driveway. "Sure" was the enthusiastic response. Lee was patient as I had him roll forward then backward, foot up and out, left on the peg, hands and fingers here and there and on and on. And all this under a bright sun, and full-face bubble helmet. A real trooper.

After I shot a few rounds, we looked at the images and figured we'd try to get a bit better perspective then originally shot. So we did it again. Once the shooting was wrapped, the owner was wanting to show Lee the home and all the changes that have occurred over the years. It was like watching a kid relive a part of their life many years ago. "Oh, this was my room....." and "...this is where I parked my motorcycle". The owner was happy to hear and record the history of the home and fill in some holes as well.

Overall, today was a lot of fun. The shot presented some technical challenges such as overgrown trees, the curb had moved and today was sunny vs cloudy when the original was shot. Yet overall, I think the objective was met.

Question: Would the 'now' shot be better served by having the sharpness/clarity reduced? Or do you think it acceptable as the camera technology has also changed from the Kodak Instamatic to my gear?