Options

DSS 79 - Cathedral Lights

sapphire73sapphire73 Registered Users, Super Moderators Posts: 1,946 moderator
edited June 21, 2011 in The Dgrin Challenges
Once a year, they light up a nearby cathedral. This was the first time that I've tried to photograph it (all lit up) and it was challenging to get good shots SOOC. It may not have helped that I was using a 10-22 mm lens for this subject. My default jpeg setting had been for portrait style and I switched part way through to camera standard (giving the darker sky). I have been shooting raw for a couple of years now, so I'd welcome input on color, etc.

I may end up trying to get some other shots but have very little free time over the next two weeks so it would be great to have some input on this initial photo shoot.

3. From the Garden [still have to find and switch this one with true SOOC]
i-GSV6F9J-S.jpg

It seems that word spread about this photo opportunity as there were more photographers with tripods than I have ever seen in one place!

Gretchen

Edit: I viewed these in Lightroom and exported them for upload in SmugMug just to compare my options, not realizing that some saturation had been added (without my intentionally applying it) so I am switching out the shots that are real possibilities with the true SOOC versions.

Comments

• Options
    PedalGirlPedalGirl Registered Users Posts: 794 Major grins
    edited June 16, 2011
    Great Pics!
    Pho-tog-ra-pher (n) 1. One who practices photography 2. one obsessed with capturing life with their camera. 3. One who eats, sleeps and breathes photographs. 4. One who sees the world in 4x6.
    www.lisaspeakmanphotography.com
  • Options
    CambysesCambyses Registered Users Posts: 141 Major grins
    edited June 16, 2011
    Very nice shots... I think I like them in this order 3-1-2-4

The problem I see with 4 is loss of details in the shadows on the lower left, and a bit of burned highlights on the top.
  • Options