Options

Want to turn pro. Do I 'need" a DX?

MLangtonMLangton Registered Users Posts: 140 Major grins
edited July 1, 2011 in Mind Your Own Business
Greetings, I will be doing mostly real estate, events, and location portraits. Possibly an occasional wedding.

My issue? Specifically, I have had two or three potential customers question me on my gear. "Do you use an FX camera?" The ones that asked, went with someone else that did.

I currently have a D300 that I bought new a few years ago. As far as glass goes, I have the Nikon 24-70 F2.8, the Nikon 80-200 F2.8, and the Nikon 50mm F1.8 so far. I'll be adding a wide angle next.

Perhaps my fears are unjustified over the few rolled eyes I have seen when I mention the D300. I am looking at this more from a marketing standpoint. I don't see a lot of pros out there using DX as their primary shooter. There must be a reason for this.

Go easy on me... I am new to the idea of moving up to the idea of making money. I hope the idea of "There is no such thing as a stupid question" applies here.

Question II:

If I need a DX, do I just go with the D700 now, or wait until it's upgrade comes out in ___ months...

I have a long way to go. I know. I have to start sometime though.

Many thanks!
More photo, less shop.

http://mlangton.smugmug.com

Comments

• Options
    Hikin' MikeHikin' Mike Registered Users Posts: 5,462 Major grins
    edited June 16, 2011
    If a potential client doesn't hire you based on your gear alone, then you probably don't want them as a customer....but that's just me.

Can't help you with upgrade. I use a Canon...Laughing.gif!
  • Options
    Art ScottArt Scott Registered Users Posts: 8,959 Major grins
    edited June 16, 2011