My sharpness dilemmas

Ciel_RougeCiel_Rouge Registered Users Posts: 16 Big grins
edited June 24, 2011 in Cameras
Hi everyone, this is my historic first post in this forum icon_wink.gif

I am a total beginner in the field of digital photography.

Anyway, I recently had an opportunity to view a bunch of group photos taken in 1930s. And what I found rather striking, they were literally RAZOR sharp. The persons and faces were very small as there were quite a few of them and the picture size was close to a postcard. Still, I could almost discern individual hair in their hairstyles, their eyes and facial expressions and the edges of each face were also razor-sharp.

Now, for the past few years I have been occasionally using a simple point-and-shoot and what I could notice was heavy blurring. So I have taken a closer look at online reviews and sample images, for example:

http://www.photographyblog.com/revie...sample_images/

And from what I can see there, even the latest DSLR produce a kind of "pixel soup" and the sharpness when published in print or online seems to be coming from reducing their size and even then, that "sharpness" appears sort of lame compared to what I saw in the 1930s photographs. So, please tell me, what is going on? Since I am a total newbie here, I might not understand some issues. How do you define sharpness? Is it true that all digital cameras produce a "pixel soup" as opposed to "razor-sharp" images?

Comments

• ziggy53ziggy53 Super Moderators Posts: 24,078 moderator
    edited June 23, 2011
    Without seeing some of the images to which you refer I can only speak to what I know. Modern digital-SLR cameras do have a filter in front of the imager to prevent "moire", which can occur because of the regular organization of pixels in a digital camera plus the regular organization of some subject matter. As a result, digital images need particular sharpening to counteract the Anti-Alias/blur (AA) filter on the imager.