Travel to Pacific Island - which camera to buy?

IcehandsIcehands Registered Users Posts: 5 Beginner grinner
edited July 4, 2011 in Cameras
I'm moving to Vanuatu (small island West of Fiji, aka in the middle of nowhere), and I'd like to do some serious photography done while there. I'm looking for a DSLR replacement for my SONY R1.

I'm a student, so ideally, I'd like to buy the camera body, and at least one lens for under £1000, and possibly even a zoom lens. I'd be really grateful if you could help out with some suggestions :)

Thanks,

Icehands

Comments

• ziggy53ziggy53 Super Moderators Posts: 24,078 moderator
    edited July 2, 2011
    What type of photography do you do?

What type would you like to do?

Is this to be in addition to the Sony Cyber-shot DSC-R1?

What lighting conditions? Indoors?

Are you looking for image quality good enough to sell? If so, what size images?

How much weather sealing do you need?

Is your budget fixed or can you afford to invest more?
    ziggy53
    Moderator of the Cameras and Accessories forums
  • IcehandsIcehands Registered Users Posts: 5 Beginner grinner
    edited July 2, 2011
    Thanks for the reply :)

>What type of photography do you do?
    At the moment, taking photos mainly of landscapes, animals, flowers, and getting better at taking photos of people/events. I've had a smugmug account, but it's currently under renovations (just assembling a portfolio, which has been considerably delayed due to my PhD).

>What type would you like to do?
    Mostly the same, just in a more exotic environment (am based in the UK at the moment). I'd like to improve/learn new techniques. A good zoom lens would be great for taking photos of island animals/birds.

>Is this to be in addition to the Sony Cyber-shot DSC-R1?
    No, I would like to replace it. My R1 still works fine but it's 5 years old, and I wouldn't like it to suddenly die on me when the nearest camera shop is 1000 miles away.

>What lighting conditions? Indoors?