Newbie Here... :) Critique welcome!

ashleyaleeseashleyaleese Registered Users Posts: 40 Big grins
edited July 23, 2011 in People
Hi, I've been working at this for about a year part time. Let me know your thoughts. Just a few of my shots from this summer. :)

1. _DSC6633.jpg

2. tomara2.jpg

3. karissa2.jpg

Comments

• QarikQarik Registered Users Posts: 4,959 Major grins
    edited July 13, 2011
    1) the color and processing are very nice, the pose is VERY awkward. she looks uncomfortable and the angle may not have been the most flattering

2) I am neutral on this one.

3) the pose and smile are very nice in this shot as well as overall tonality. you need to shoot this kind of shot wider though to keep all her body parts. Also it is tilted to the left and I vignette is a bit strong
    D700, D600
    14-24 24-70 70-200mm (vr2)
    85 and 50 1.4
    45 PC and sb910 x2
    http://www.danielkimphotography.com
  • ashleyaleeseashleyaleese Registered Users Posts: 40 Big grins
    edited July 14, 2011
    Hey Thanks! Still learning things, and I appreciate your insight. :) I'll keep it in mind for sure!
  • TenThirteenTenThirteen Registered Users Posts: 488 Major grins
    edited July 14, 2011
    I love #2!

The pose in #1 she does look uncomfortable, but she probably WAS since she looks incredibly pregnant! lol

#3 is cute, but like Qarik said, it would be better without such a tight crop.

All in all, very pleasant, good job! :-)
    Canon Fan
  • Darren Troy CDarren Troy C Registered Users Posts: 1,927 Major grins
    edited July 15, 2011
    Newbie, huh? I'd say you're well on your way. Nice job overall!
  • divamumdivamum Registered Users Posts: 9,021 Major grins
    edited July 15, 2011
    I really like #2 as well (sorry Qarik :tiptoe)....
    edited July 16, 2011
    Thanks everyone. Still growing, and there is so much of the technical stuff I am still learning so I appreciate the helpful tips!
  • kathiemtkathiemt Registered Users Posts: 226 Major grins