What are your thoughts?

SamSam Registered Users Posts: 7,419 Major grins
edited July 27, 2011 in The Big Picture
I found the following post on a local craigslist:

"Hello! I am a wedding photographer looking for a second shooter. Please read entire post before responding :)

You are:
*female (sorry fellas)"

Snipped the rest.

I wonder what the results would be if I posted for a second shooter and said only men need apply? No woman will be considered.

Please note: I ain't politically correct and don't give a rats ham sandwich, but it does seem like there are multiple acceptance levels and interpretations of laws and policies.

Sam :D

Comments

• SamSam Registered Users Posts: 7,419 Major grins
    edited July 25, 2011
    48 people without any opinions? I hope y'all have a designated driver. :D

Sam
  • CWSkopecCWSkopec Registered Users Posts: 1,325 Major grins
    edited July 26, 2011
    I dare you to try posting a job offer for men only, Sam. I give it less than 3 hours before you get a letter from a lawyer! If you're feeling particularly litigious, or even a little bored, I say go ahead and apply for the job! :D
    Chris
    SmugMug QA
    My Photos
  • cab.in.bostoncab.in.boston Registered Users Posts: 634 Major grins
    edited July 26, 2011
    My personal opinion is that every (private) employer has every right to put whatever qualifications they choose on any job they offer.

There may be a reason this person wants a female, for instance perhaps the 2nd shooter will be doing the "bride getting dressed" photos and the bride doesn't want a male in that role.