Options

Facebook Deal: my experience

sphyngesphynge Registered Users, Retired Mod Posts: 172
edited August 2, 2011 in Weddings
Hey Dgrinners,

Today saw the close of my Facebook Deal. I thought I'd share the good, the bad and the ugly!

The good:
- You get to say what your terms are
I am primarily a wedding photographer and I didn't want to hurt our brand as an exclusive, upscale boutique. So my deal was for a one-hour stylized photoshoot for couples only (didn't want families of 8 to buy it) - I spun it on my page as perfect for the anniversary shoot
- You get some advance notice. I made a request in May and my deal ran July 28-August 1 2011. I emailed my hosting provider to say I might have a spike in traffic. I got an extra 100 visitors/day in the San Francisco Bay Area, so it turned out to not be a burden on bandwidth
- You get to set how many deals you give out. I chose 25 because I didn't want it to become a customer service nightmare.
- When the deal is on, you get to see how many people "like" your deal, how many people have signed up, etc.
- It's actually good exposure so long as you control the beast. Facebook deals are in their infancy, which means that you're not going to get a million phone calls. In fact, I got zero phone calls or emails, and 5 takers. Not bad for what I was trying to achieve (awareness)

The bad:
- You HAVE to set your terms. And that means, researching other people's terms. I had lots of extra clauses, like 24h cancellation required, you must check for availability, all that good stuff. But maybe that's because I'm paranoid about people abusing me (which they have in the past)