Upcoming Family Shoot - Newb Advice Please

NyarthlopicNyarthlopic Registered Users Posts: 274 Major grins
edited August 9, 2011 in People
Hi All,

I could use some advice from all you seasoned people. I'm going to be shooting some family portraits for some friends of mine; and it's something that I've never done before. There's no money involved, but I want to give them some good, family shots and I want to learn how to do this kind of shooting better. Pretty much all of my shooting of people is of the candid, unposed variety. Here's what I have to work with:

This is a family of three: mom, dad and their 2 year old tyke. They want to do something outdoors, but haven't picked a location yet. It will most likely be a wooded location. I've talked them into either shooting on an overcast day or picking a well shaded area so I'm not dealing with the sun, squinting, etc. I think the latter is the more likely scenario

This is the gear I'm working with:
- Canon EOS 7D (so I have wireless flash capability)
- Canon 15-85mm f3.5-5.6
- Canon 60mm f/2.8 Macro
- Canon 50mm f1.8
- Canon Speedlite 430EX
- CowboyStudio Umbrella and Stand (it's okay, you can laugh at this)
- Reflector (White, Black, Gold, Silver)

I have other lenses, but these are the only ones worth a darn. Any advice at all is welcome, from "shoot with this lens, leave the others at home" to posing to...whatever; I'll take anything you can offer me.

Comments

• Sean EalySean Ealy Registered Users Posts: 66 Big grins
    edited August 8, 2011