Options

To Save or Not to Save....

foto41foto41 Registered Users Posts: 100 Major grins
edited August 11, 2011 in Video
I am mainly a photographer, and choosing a system to handle thousands of images a month was a process that evolved over years. I hope to avoid that with this question and get some feedback on what others are doing with video.

Currently, I have only used iMovie for my limited video excursions. After I shoot the video, I import it into iMovie which changes the file (MP4) into a .MOV. Should I be saving the original MP4 file for anything or is the converted .MOV file as good, the same, better. I really don't want to keep even MORE hard drives than I already do, but I don't want to throw away files I might need later on for something I am as of yet unaware of. Advice???

I have purchased FinalCutX, but have not gone in too deep yet.
Barry Nichols

Comments

• Options
    DavidTODavidTO Registered Users, Retired Mod Posts: 19,160 Major grins
    edited August 11, 2011
    foto41 wrote: »
    I am mainly a photographer, and choosing a system to handle thousands of images a month was a process that evolved over years. I hope to avoid that with this question and get some feedback on what others are doing with video.

Currently, I have only used iMovie for my limited video excursions. After I shoot the video, I import it into iMovie which changes the file (MP4) into a .MOV. Should I be saving the original MP4 file for anything or is the converted .MOV file as good, the same, better. I really don't want to keep even MORE hard drives than I already do, but I don't want to throw away files I might need later on for something I am as of yet unaware of. Advice???

I have purchased FinalCutX, but have not gone in too deep yet.

A) would you mind editing your signature to remove the font tags?