Options

Is it worth upgrading from Power to Pro if you're not in the US?

KalyrKalyr Registered Users Posts: 16 Big grins
edited August 29, 2011 in SmugMug Pro Sales Support
Hi,

I'm currently have a $60 a year Power account. Given that I'm a hobbyist rather than a pro, and my photography is very UK-centric, would upgrading to a Pro account be worth the money for me?

Until SmugMug partners with a Europe-based lab for those of us on this side of the Atlantic, I can't see myself making anything on sales, so the only real benefit of a Pro account is the ability to watermark my images. Is that worth $90 a year for a hobbyist photographer?

Comments

• Options
    BradfordBennBradfordBenn Registered Users Posts: 2,506 Major grins
    edited August 28, 2011
    I have upgraded to Pro for the main reason of watermarking. So for me, it was well worth it.

A more in depth reason can be found at http://www.bradfordbenn.com/2010/03/why_smugmug/ but the watermarking and custom domain was what sold me on Pro.
    -=Bradford

Pictures | Website | Blog | Twitter | Contact
  • Options
    fredjclausfredjclaus Registered Users Posts: 759 Major grins
    edited August 28, 2011
    Watermarking and sales are the two big things you get for your upgraded price. Naturally you don't want to use the American labs if you are in England. If you can benefit from the watermarking, I'd say yes. If not, I'd say stay at power.

---
    I am here: http://maps.google.com/maps?ll=42.992742,-78.961809
    Fred J Claus
    Commercial Photographer
    http://www.FredJClaus.com
    http://www.Fredjclaus.com/originals

Save on your own SmugMug account. Just enter Coupon code i2J0HIOcEElwI at checkout
  • Options
    cabbeycabbey Registered Users Posts: 1,053 Major grins
    edited August 29, 2011
    fredjclaus wrote: »
    Naturally you don't want to use the American labs if you are in England.