Options

Is a $1000 monitor really worth it

2»

Comments

• Options
    arodneyarodney Registered Users Posts: 2,005 Major grins
    edited September 18, 2011
    The OS, Software, and output are all enabled and synced in 10 bit/channel display mode... that's the entirety of the path to display 10 bit on an LCD

That doesn’t answer the question. How does one verify all components in the chain stay high bit through the entire path? Especially the one area I hear is the weak link (applications, specifically Photoshop).

I have some knowledgeable experts in the display industry saying as yet, that’s not necessarily the case. I’m not necessarily taking their word as fact but I’m not necessarily taking your word as fact either. So it begs the question, how does one know?
    Andrew Rodney
    Author "Color Management for Photographers"
    http://www.digitaldog.net/
  • Options
    OverfocusedOverfocused Registered Users Posts: 1,068 Major grins
    arodney wrote: »
    How would one verify this (a full path)?
    That doesn’t answer the question. How does one verify all components in the chain stay high bit through the entire path? Especially the one area I hear is the weak link (applications, specifically Photoshop).

I have some knowledgeable experts in the display industry saying as yet, that’s not necessarily the case. I’m not necessarily taking their word as fact but I’m not necessarily taking your word as fact either. So it begs the question, how does one know?

http://www.amd.com/us/Documents/ramp.psd

Open this on a 10-bit enabled path and it won't band (of course after following their tutorial)

The OpenGL is what enables PS to render in 10 bit on screen. With the RGB values on the info plane it may still read things in 256 values per channel, but Adobe is working on all of that from what I've read.
  • Options