Options

Common question, uncommon situation

TJRidgwayTJRidgway Registered Users Posts: 26 Big grins
edited September 8, 2011 in Mind Your Own Business
I've been lurking here for a while, and just joined today. I really enjoy the atmosphere here and look forward to participating in the future.

My question is in regards to starting up a part-time photo business without a studio. I have been reading everything I can find regarding small businesses in general and photography businesses in particular, but I am looking for advice and input from those who have done this successfully.

My situation is as follows: I am a 10-year veteran of the US Navy, currently 9-12 months from leaving the service to pursue further education (either another Bachelor's or a Master's) and spend more time with my family. I have been casually pursuing photography since 2001, and truly pursuing it now for a couple of years. In these last couple of years I have found that I truly enjoy it and would like to make it a bigger part of my life and career. To that end I am considering starting up a part-time business doing specific types of photography; in my case I believe there is an under-served market for military portrait (in uniform, on site) and event (change of command, reenlistment, retirement, holiday parties, yearly balls) photography in addition to family portraiture.

I do understand that I have much to learn about portrait and event photography. I have photographed three events (one wedding, two military ceremonies) and had happy "customers" each time (all were either family or job assignments), but I am still very much a beginner overall in that respect. Regarding portraiture, I am experimenting now and am getting some good results, but my miss rate is still high and I need more practice to get my lighting right. I am better with natural light than artificial at this point, and I know that is a major weakness, which I am addressing.