Options

Seeking Best Info Resources on Panos (w/example)

seastackseastack Registered Users Posts: 716 Major grins
edited September 14, 2011 in Technique
Hi all. I am working on a project to document a forest in a park before it is logged due to diseased trees. This will serve as both an historical record and for possible future interpretive products. Very challenging with complexity and dynamic range.

I am quite pleased with the panos I am producing but am interested in exploring the technical aspects further. I am an experienced editorial photographer but not with panos. I currently use just a regular tripod, a consistent exposure at f8, and a lot of overlap (5DII, canon 35mm 1.4 lens). I also provide some correction to distortion in PS. While the slightly wide lens may not be standard for this work, I like the depth in the results. The panos are huge and wicked sharp.

Can anyone recommend some good threads here on the technical? Books? Articles?
Pathfinder :))?

Do you think the fancy pano heads, etc., make a real difference? (was that a stupid question? ;)) Know absolutely nothing about this.

This forest will be logged soon, possibly next month, so I am on it. Not sure I can afford anything too expensive in terms of new equipment but any help pointing me in the right direction for more information will be greatly appreciated.

As an example, the photo below is huge (1400px here, hope this isn't too big for the forum, still doesn't do the original justice). 5dII, 35mm 1.4, f8, .8s, 10 frames (2 stacked rows of 5 with lots of overlap). No HDR. Some dodge and burn using curves layers/masks and a little rough correction of distortion using transform in PS (most done during stitching). Pretty standard.

pano_003.jpg

Comments

• Options
    AndyAndy Registered Users Posts: 50,016 Major grins
    edited September 13, 2011
    seastack wrote: »
    Do you think the fancy pano heads, etc., make a real difference?