Po-Tay-Toe

anonymouscubananonymouscuban Registered Users, Retired Mod Posts: 4,586 Major grins
edited September 19, 2011 in Other Cool Shots
Just a few of my little puggy Potato. I was testing some DIY v-flats I built and she was a wiling subject:

DSC8775-Edit-X2.jpg

DSC8767-Edit-X2.jpg

DSC8757-Edit-X2.jpg

DSC8752-Edit-X2.jpg

And one of the wife with "Tater":

DSC8791-Edit-X2.jpg
"I'm not yelling. I'm Cuban. That's how we talk."

Moderator of the People and Go Figure forums

My Smug Site

Comments

• jirojiro Registered Users Posts: 1,865 Major grins
    edited September 18, 2011
    I saw some of your shots like this in the "people" forum and they are great. Loved the catchlights on these. You must have used a medium sizes softbox for your catchlight. I am not a professional photographer and I haven't used the toys being used by the "big boys" so kindly take my comments with a lot of grain of salt.

1. I think the background lights are too hot and still putting in some spill on the main subject. The edge of the subject lost its definition so I would presume it was caused by the side lighting spills and not by the wide aperture choice. You can see that more with your shot of your wife and potato. Her skin is a bit brighter (which is what we call a flattering light for women) but the good thing with your exposure is that the texture of her skin is still visible. Maybe, just maybe, I would probably dial down the background lights a little bit so the spill is not affecting the exposure that much or maybe change the orientation of your V-flats so the light patterns would fall more on the white background.

All in all, a very fine practice shots! Man, you could charge very good money with this kind of lighting setup! Congrats.
    Sitting quietly, doing nothing. Spring comes and the grass grows by itself.

http://imagesbyjirobau.blogspot.com/
  • RichardRichard Administrators, Vanilla Admin Posts: 19,955 moderator