Options

Canon 7D or Nikon D7000

LightsearcherLightsearcher Registered Users Posts: 202 Major grins
edited September 21, 2011 in Cameras
Hi,

I am an advanced-amateur photographer and I use Olympus cameras and lens.

I shot landscapes, cityscapes and portraits... I love my gear and it is perfect for this kind of photography but when I have to shoot weddings or fashion shows is in this field when Olympus have some issues with auto focus and dynamic range.

I'm not selling my Olympus gear just want to start with a new system (Canon or Nikon) to use it in low light situations and when I need fast auto focus response from my camera and lens.

I am thinking to go with Canon 7D or Nikon D7000, what do you think about this to cameras and what lens should I buy for a wedding or a fashion show?

Thank you in advance for your advice and feedback.

Regards.

Marcelo

Comments

• Options
    ThatCanonGuyThatCanonGuy Registered Users Posts: 1,778 Major grins
    edited September 18, 2011
    Between those two, the 7D. The Nikon D300s is a better comparison to the Canon 7D. However, since the Nikon D7000 is quite a bit newer than the D300s, it often gets compared to the 7D. But the 7D has higher-end features (as does the D300s) that the D7000 doesn't have. So I'd say either a Canon 7D or a Nikon D300s.

As for lenses, there are many options... the 70-200 2.8 (any of them) sounds good. There are many fast primes to choose from as well: 24mm f/1.4, 35 f/1.4, 50 1.2, 85 1.2, and 135 f2, to name a few high-end Canon examples.
  • Options
    ziggy53ziggy53 Super Moderators Posts: 23,851 moderator
    The Canon 7D and the Nikon D300s are the top-of-the-line APS-C format camera bodies for their respective manufacturers. There is no 1:1 relationship between Canon and Nikon, so it's best to choose your equipment based on your needs and how "you" work with the camera. This includes the user interface and location of controls, etc.