Downgrade to Upgrade?

trackaddicttrackaddict Registered Users Posts: 6 Beginner grinner
edited September 20, 2011 in Cameras
First off Hello, I'm new to the forums and would like some help. I'm currently a student but I do event photography on the side. Right now my gear list is as follows, D200, D40x, D70 with the following lens's 18-200, 10-24, 50mm and I usually rent a 17-55mm F2.8 for larger events like weddings. The upgrade in question right now is my D70, I really don't feel as if it fits in my gear bag right now, it can't take a beating like the D200 and doesn't have the resolution of my D40x.

In the perfect world I'd pick up another D200 or a D300 but I don't have the money for that, the other day I found myself looking at older Nikon bodies (yes things more historic than the D70) and the D1x caught my eye, browsing more I found out about the "10mp" possibility with it. So in short would it be wise to dump my D70 and pick up a good condition D1x? The camera will probably only have a 50mm mounted, and I will not be using a flash with it either, and if I can get similar resolution to my D200 then I don't really see an issue. I also like the fact that the D1x is more robust, it can take a couple dings.

Buying the D1x would also give me a body to take camping / hiking, I get scared when I bring my d200 out in the elements, I wouldn't care with the D1x as much since it can take a drop and if it breaks I feel it would be easy to source a parts camera and repair it myself.

Also off topic but I'm considering selling my 10-24mm and saving up to actually buy a 17-55mm I don't use it enough and there is to much distortion to use it with people in the picture, I seem to only use it taking pictures from a balcony to get a picture of the whole church.

Cliffs: Sell D70 buy D1x.

Sorry if that was so long but I appreciate the help!

Comments

• QarikQarik Registered Users Posts: 4,959 Major grins
    edited September 20, 2011