Options

Street Artist at Raleigh's ArtSplosure

Ed911Ed911 Registered Users Posts: 1,306 Major grins
edited September 26, 2011 in Street and Documentary
This is my first time posting to this forum. I'm sure a big fan...even of BD...and visit frequently. My wife and I travel from the coast to Raleigh every year for Raleigh's art festival, ArtSplosure, with many artistic disciplines represented. This includes photographers from near and far and that's the big attraction for us.

Anyways, while perusing the streets we came upon this guy...doing spray-can paintings on poster board at the far end of the festival and across the street from Moore's park...the official festival site. Other than the paint and poster board that he created his work on...everything else was stuff that he got out of the trash. He found a place in front of the shop in the images...and was somewhat sponsored by them...in that they were allowing him to be there...much to the chagrin of the art festival officials..and since he wasn't a paying part of the art festival, he was eventually expelled by the festival officials accompanied by the police.

He claimed to travel by rail...eat out of garbage cans and work only for enough money to buy art supplies so he could continue doing his street art. He had his brother and about 6 other young people in his entourage. Quite interesting and captivating. His appearance would seem to bear that out...see the color images that I've posted.

I hope you enjoy his work captured here:

I sort of pushed my way through the crowd that surrounded him and sat on the curb to get down to his level. His tool of choice...Krylon spray paint, magazine pages, a knife, cigarette lighter, poster board, and some plastic caps and covers. And, a hanging cigarette. The day was overcast with the sun popping out from time to time...making some shots a little difficult to get.
Street-Artist-XL.jpg