Options

Advise on having my photo used in a press release

LRussoPhotoLRussoPhoto Registered Users Posts: 458 Major grins
edited January 17, 2012 in Sports
A rider contacted me about an aftermarket manufacturing company wanting to use some of my photos of this rider in a press release. The rider won the points championship in their class for the 2011 season. I am getting the idea just from the wording in the email that the rider wants the photos for free. So I have a few questions.
Being that I am kinda new to this would it be stupid for me to give the photos away for free just so I can get my name out there being this company is fairly big in the industry? Should I find out if the photos will be used in catalogs or be used to generate sales for that company? Or would it be setting bad precedence to give photos away? The photos are for sale on my smugmug page but that is for personal use, what would be a fair price for commercial use? Should I make sure I receive credit for these photos in the press release? If I do sell the photo for commercial use that means I give all rights to the photo to the purchaser? Sorry if my questions are all over the place just bring to learn how this works.
How should I proceed?
D300s D90
Nikon 18-105mm,Nikon 18-200mm,Sigma 24-70mm f2.8, Sigma 70-200mm f/2.8

http://LouRusso.SmugMug.com

Comments

• Options
    KidPicKidPic Registered Users Posts: 9 Beginner grinner
    edited October 11, 2011
    Just wondering....
    I do a lot of reading and just starting to sell some pictures online myself....

I noticed you are selling Original Downloads for $7.00?

My target sport is little league and I am not so much worried about being a "Pro" Photographer and many of my customers (moms and dads) are not as picky as ESPN (which is good for me). However, I currently sell my Web Downloads for $1 and Originals for $18.

Although a little off your original question.... how did you come up with $7.00?