Options

Business cards for the non business

HelvegrHelvegr Registered Users Posts: 246 Major grins
edited October 17, 2011 in The Big Picture
I don't do photography as a business, and I don't have plans to. For me its a hobby and I hate to spoil the fun of it by turning it into work.

However, if somebody handed me an opportunity to make a little side cash, or sell a couple prints, I'd happily take that money for a new memory card, or some ink for the printer to support the hobby.

So the strange thing is, that yesterday was just one of those days that seemed to have the possibly of some interesting shoots. People just hearing from word of mouth that I do photography, they like my stuff, whatever and possibly have some opportunity for a shoot. Even as a hobbyist, I don't want to turn down a shoot that could be fun, just because I don't do it professionally. If somebody was looking for a professional, they know that I'm not that guy.

So anyway, now that I've burdened you with my thoughts, I come down to the question. Does anybody ever do some type of simple "business card", just so that you could give people your contact information and maybe photo website? Or does even that give too much of the impression that you are a professional? Or do you not think that it matters.

Just looking to get some thoughts from others. I was almost thinking that if I did a simple contact card, I could even put "Amateur Photography" right on it the card, so there is no confusion.

Thanks for your thoughts!
Camera: Nikon D4
Lenses: Nikon 70-200 f/2.8 VR II | Nikon 24-70 f/2.8 | Nikon 50mm f/1.4
Lighting: SB-910 | SU-800

Comments

• Options
    angevin1angevin1 Registered Users Posts: 3,403 Major grins
    edited October 13, 2011
    Helvegr wrote: »