Serengeti Camp HDRs - 1st Try

kitvankitvan Registered Users Posts: 243 Major grins
edited October 24, 2011 in Landscapes
Hey all, I'm looking for some feedback on these. They were done handheld, so they are probably not the sharpest shots you've ever seen...but I'm still learning about combining exposures in a tasteful fashion so I could use your guys' opinions.

i-3GjQDTb.jpg

i-qdmkpnD.jpg

i-vDNMkQj.jpg
"Time is an illusion. Lunchtime, doubly so."

Comments

• anonymouscubananonymouscuban Registered Users, Retired Mod Posts: 4,586 Major grins
    edited October 24, 2011
    I really like the second shot. I can't really comment on the tonal qualities of these since I'm at work and my monitors suck really bad... very flat.
    "I'm not yelling. I'm Cuban. That's how we talk."

Moderator of the People and Go Figure forums

My Smug Site
  • kdogkdog Administrators Posts: 11,681 moderator
    edited October 24, 2011
    Cool shots! They are a bit compressed due to the tone mapping. I tried applying a standard S curve and some local contrast enhancement to your first one and it really popped off the page. I can post the edited version if you like.
  • hawkeye978hawkeye978 Registered Users Posts: 1,218 Major grins
    edited October 24, 2011
    Agree with Joel. #1 and #3 have great contrast and drama in the sky but the foreground is somewhat flat. HDR tends to bring out great detail but it shows up everywhere so it makes the image look a little flat. Some quick contrast fixes can really make a picture pop.
  • kitvankitvan Registered Users Posts: 243 Major grins
    edited October 24, 2011
    kdog wrote: »
    Cool shots! They are a bit compressed due to the tone mapping. I tried applying a standard S curve and some local contrast enhancement to your first one and it really popped off the page. I can post the edited version if you like.

Thanks for the comments... Yeah definitely post it in this thread if you got it. Thanks!
    hawkeye978 wrote: »