If all you had was a Nikon 70-200mm f/2.8 VR II . . .

heatherk9heatherk9 Registered Users Posts: 20 Big grins
edited August 12, 2012 in Cameras
would you get the Nikon d700 or d7000 if you were me? How's that for a hypothetical? I was using my old Nikon d70 with the 18-200mm on it until last week when it was stolen. :cry I'd been considering upgrading for a long time but now I don't have a choice.

I can buy a d7000 kit with the 18-200mm VRII lens, or I could pick up a used d700 for not much more money than the d7000 kit and just use my 70-200. I've never used full frame before but I'd like to get the best low light capability I can while still using a zoom lens. I mostly take pictures of cats--both portraits for the local shelter (for which I could use a prime lens) and feral cats out in their element (which is akin to shooting wildlife).

I'm very thankful I didn't have the 70-200mm on my Nikon when it was stolen.

Thank you!
Heather

Comments

• OverfocusedOverfocused Registered Users Posts: 1,068 Major grins
    edited October 29, 2011
    D700 would bring you to another level completely and you'd be fine without the 18-200 :) I'd get a 50mm or 35mm prime on the side for less than $100 for the ability to go wide, and then you should be pretty well covered.

I use a Canon 5D MKII (basically the D700 equivalent) and when I first bought it I had the Canon 70-200F4 and the Canon 24-105F4. I had the 70-200 on my camera about %85 of the time. The IQ that the 70-200's give simply crush the all in one zooms, and from what you're saying you want to photograph, the 70-200 + an inexpensive 50mm or 35mm prime is exactly what you need.
  • ThatCanonGuyThatCanonGuy Registered Users Posts: 1,778 Major grins
    edited October 29, 2011