Options

Image titles in the Street/PJ realm...

M38A1M38A1 Registered Users Posts: 1,317 Major grins
edited October 31, 2011 in Street and Documentary
OK, first I must say that I am new to this and have learned a tremendous amount in the short time I've been lurking and posting. From the 'masters', I take more time in my composition and technical aspects of an image and try to work hard on the subject matter/story of the image. I've even tried to get the images to draw you in so to speak, but sheesh - this is hard work.

Recently, titles have come into play as they relate to images. I will readily admit I've always just thought of a title as a 'framing' reference for an image, one that I thought conveyed something about the image or put the image into context.

But in this genre, the title appears to have much greater implications.

So, what would be some general guidelines for titles in Street/PJ? I'm thinking if I can wrap my head around a basic body of knowledge, I can put better titles with images and hopefully increase the overall quality of the experience you suffer through.

Comments

• Options
    richardmanrichardman Registered Users Posts: 376 Major grins
    edited October 29, 2011
    I don't know about in this forum, but think about all the great photos you have seen, from Henri Cartier-Bresson, Robert Capa of old, to Elliot Erwitt, Peter Turnley, and on and on. All the people that are photojournalists. Now think of how many captions of these photos you can remember.

I don't know about anyone else, but for me, I can recall a lot of great images, but I cannot recall any of the caption.
    "Some People Drive, We Are Driven"
    // richard <http://www.richardmanphoto.com&gt;
    richardmanphoto on Facebook and Instagram
  • Options
    bfjrbfjr Registered Users Posts: 10,980 Major grins
    edited October 29, 2011
    Yes through the years the "Title" thing keeps coming up.