Options

getting into professional photography

hellbikehellbike Registered Users Posts: 1 Beginner grinner
edited November 17, 2011 in Mind Your Own Business
So... i'm looking for ways to get into professional photography.
To get experience, or even to get some money.

I hope that someone could provide me with ideas:}

For now i contacted all weddings photograhers in my area, declaring my will to work for free, just to get experience.

I'm not very experienced. In fact, i own dslr for not even a year, and my photography interest boomed about 5 months ago.
However, i feel serious about photography, and since this is what i want to do with my life - i don't see reason to wait.

I'm not looking for instant way into world of full time photographers, this won't concern me until i decide my photographs are good enough.
I just want to get some experience, maybe earn some money.

Right now i got just pentax with 18-55 kit, but i'm going to upgrade to d7000 + 85mm 1.8 + 12-22 4.0 + flash whenever possible.

http://500px.com/hellbike - there are some of my pictures, but this is old stuff, recently i didn't had too much time to post-process/upload my photos, as i was too busy taking pictures :}

btw, i live in UK.

Comments

• Options
    Mark DickinsonMark Dickinson Registered Users Posts: 337 Major grins
    edited November 8, 2011
    You might be hard upto find photographers that will let you. If you do watch for non compete. What makes a professional is not how you shoot but how you handle yourself and that continued existence in the field rather than a hit and run wow I made 5k extra this year and ditch it. Be yourself and you will find people will find you if you are let people love your work you already do and you will see the trail follow behind it. But you might be better off trying to determine what type of photography you want to go towards.
  • Options
    FedererPhotoFedererPhoto Registered Users Posts: 312 Major grins
    edited November 12, 2011