bird silhouettes

JuanoJuano Registered Users Posts: 4,890 Major grins
edited November 11, 2011 in Other Cool Shots
I took this shot early last year and only rediscovered it yesterday. Comments?

DSC0087-XL.jpg

Comments

• JBHotShotsJBHotShots Registered Users Posts: 391 Major grins
    edited November 8, 2011
    So I am a photography student and we do bi-weekly critiques on our projects. I was having a problem actually standing in front of a class taking the critique as well as participating in giving so I've decided to work more on critiquing in my off time; what a better place than Dgrin.com :D

From the heart:

We've learned a lot about repetition and this has a lot of it; the poles and the two end birds.

I think it is a nice conversion to b/w and it gives it a gloomy feel to it. I'm not sure what movie it is but I remember catching scene from an movie when I was a kid and the man was in a cage and the crows were eating him alive and this reminds me of the crows and what they might be doing when not partaking in such events :giggle

We just learned about graphic elements (points, lines, shapes ect.) and this has two that really stand out to me. Points, the birds, and vertical lines.

Since it is in landscape format I wish that 3 lowest poles wouldn't have been included at all, it just doesn't add to the picture.

Pretty good picture because I usually can't break a picture down like that in class; this is my 5th week. thumb.gif Overall I like the image.
    Jamie
    JBHotShots.com
    Facebook
    7DII w/Grip, 50D w/Grip, 24-70/2.8L, 70-200/2.8L, 85/1.8, 50/1.8, Rokinon 8mm FE 3.2, 580EXII 430EX
  • DonRicklinDonRicklin Registered Users Posts: 5,551 Major grins
    edited November 8, 2011
    15524779-Ti.gif The three lowest pole bits are distracting and don't add to the image Crop up from the bottom a tad! thumb.gif.

Good job, Jamie! :D

Don
    Don Ricklin - Gear: Canon EOS 5D Mark III, was Pentax K7
    'I was older then, I'm younger than that now' ....