11311JudyPuppies0016bw-X2.jpg
bd@bdcolenphoto.com
"He not busy being born is busy dying." Bob Dylan

"The more ambiguous the photograph is, the better it is..." Leonard Freed

Comments

• Options
    IslandcrowIslandcrow Registered Users Posts: 106 Major grins
    edited November 14, 2011
    I like the lines, they form an interesting geometry, but I don't think I quite get this one. There's just enough of the poster or whatever it is at the bottom of the frame to make me wonder why it's there. The focal point is on the front gate. . .or grate, again, I'm not entirely sure what I'm looking at, but it seems like I should be focused somewhere else. I'm assuming that would be on the woman who seems to be a very secondary figure in the photograph. I'm very new to street photography, so it may just be me. . .
  • Options
    toragstorags Registered Users Posts: 4,615 Major grins
    edited November 14, 2011
    I would call this an urban abstract.

My guess would be a women waiting in a bus enclosure with reflections off a plastic ad frame on the side of the enclosure.

I like it & I think very well done; very creative but void of any human emotion (not that that's required).

It would be engaging if all viewers took a stab and bd tell what it really is after a while
    Rags
  • Options
    RSLRSL Registered Users Posts: 839 Major grins
    edited November 14, 2011
    Thanks, BD. Now I understand what you think a street photograph should be. The geometry's quite good in this one, and it's a reasonable attempt at surrealism, though the surrealism is weakened by the clutter of disparate elements. In most of HCB's early surrealism the elements that produced the surrealistic feeling fit together, which is what made the pictures so powerful.