Options

Mac Book pro colors off

RevLinePhotoRevLinePhoto Registered Users Posts: 354 Major grins
edited November 21, 2011 in Digital Darkroom
I am new to mac and have been very happy with the screen on my macbook pro. However the other day I had it connected to my desktop monitor which is a older lcd one I was adjusting white balance and color settings when I saw my macbook screen change more for the cool side. I have been trying everything and can't seem to get it back to original settings. Thanks for any help.
BMW Tech
Live life to its fullest you never know whats in your future.
WWW.REVLINEPHOTO.COM

Comments

• Options
    Manfr3dManfr3d Registered Users Posts: 2,008 Major grins
    edited November 19, 2011
    Hi Papy,

a colorimeter (Spyder3, ColorMuki or EyeOne) should be able to correct this. Without proper
    calibration it is very hard or impossible to get the desired color rendering. FYI you can select
    the color profile of your laptop under "System Preferences -> Displays -> Color -> Display Profile".
    I believe the default Profile for a non-calibrated MBP is "Generic RGB Profile". Just know that
    the colors are still way off compared to a calibrated MBP display.
    “To consult the rules of composition before making a picture is a little like consulting the law of gravitation before going for a walk.”
    ― Edward Weston
  • Options
    edited November 20, 2011
    Thanks for the response, I have changed the rgb settings many times but the monitor still seams off. Talked to the apple store yesterday when picking up my new phone and was told to bring it in because they haven't heard of this problem.
    BMW Tech
    WWW.REVLINEPHOTO.COM
  • Options
    Manfr3dManfr3d Registered Users Posts: 2,008 Major grins
    edited November 20, 2011
    Papy wrote: »