Options

Want/need new PC

cockatiel ladycockatiel lady Registered Users Posts: 7 Beginner grinner
edited December 6, 2011 in Digital Darkroom
I am out of my league on this site but you are my last hope! I am looking to buy a new comupter which will be used to download and edit photos and videos of my birds. I have a Sony HR camcorder HDR CX 150 full HD and a Nikon SLR. I will be downloading videos of my cockatiels which I show and breed.

I also use MS 2010 office home and student for recording my cockatiel info. Using Excel.

I am not an expert as you can see but want to have fun with my hobby. I want to be able to burn DVDs. I have a HD TV and Blu-Ray player if that means anything at all.

I did buy Elements 8 photoshop, I use MS Digital Imagining 2006 for my photos, MGI Suite III, Photo Explosion. I have (PMB) Picture Motion Browser (which I hate) for my videos.

I am looking to buy a new computer (mine is dying). What would you suggest for reliable brand, model and required apps. I have looked at the HP Elite h8 1050 and the Dell XPS X 8300 5215 NBR. As you can see I am stupid when it comes to all this stuff but really would like to learn and succeed in my hobby. I am looking to go to Best Buy as they seem to have the best support for a biginner like me. Is there anyone out there that can direct me so I can have fun verses frustration. :scratch

Comments

• Options
    lifeinfocuslifeinfocus Registered Users Posts: 1,461 Major grins
    edited December 5, 2011
    Photograpy / Video Computer Selection Criteria
    The type of computer and its components you buy for photography and or video processing will depend on answers to questions like the following.

What is your desired output? Print, digital images for yourself, online images, a combined video of your images and videos? This will determine software you appear not to be currently using (edit videos for instance) and the components of the computer.