Options

Moving photos from PhotoShop 9 to Lightroom3

TipmyhattouTipmyhattou Registered Users Posts: 6 Beginner grinner
edited December 13, 2011 in Finishing School
Hi, I'm somewhat new to Photoshop 9 and Lightroom3. I upload my photos from my camera to PhotoShop9 and file them as a .tif file and work on them there. After i have finished my work in PhotoShop 9, what is the best method of moving the finished photos into LightRoom 3? I have setup folders in Photoshop and also the same folder name in Lightroom. I have a primary folder setupup for PhotoShop photos and a primary folder setup for the Lightroom photos. I distinguish the subfolders, by PS for PhotoShop, and LR for Lightroom, at the beginning of the subfolder name. Thus far, i have been dragging and dropping a copy of the finished .jpg file to the Lightroom subfolder, from the Photoshop subfolder. Does this effect any changes that i have made to the photo in Photoshop? Is there a better way to transfer photos from Photoshop Premier 9 to LightRoom 3?

Thanks,
Tipmyhattou:dunno

Comments

• Options
    basfltbasflt Registered Users Posts: 1,882 Major grins
    edited December 10, 2011
    you are doing it totally wrong
    you make a mess of your disk , plus , you misunderstood the purpose of post-processing

best practice ;
    copy your RAWs from camera to a folder on disk , un-converted
    import that folder in LR , thats all
    now you can PP in LR
    if you want to modify / edit your pic's , sent them to PS9 from within LR
    the finished pic's automatically come back in LR
  • Options
    PupatorPupator Registered Users Posts: 2,322 Major grins
    edited December 10, 2011
    Basfit is right. Put them in LR first and open in PS (an option in LR) when necessary.
  • Options
    pathfinderpathfinder Super Moderators Posts: 14,698 moderator
    edited December 10, 2011
    Listen to Basfit and Pupator.