Options

Lens Decision Help!

BakkoBakko Registered Users Posts: 58 Big grins
edited December 24, 2011 in Weddings
Hey you awesome DGrinners!
I'm in a pickle and need your help deciding between two different lenses.

I'm torn between the Canon 50mm 1.2 and the Canon 135mm 2.0
My bag could definitely use a telephoto lens (Check out my signature for my gear list)
but at the same time, the 1.2 in the 50mm just looks so appealing.

For those of you who have the 135mm, how is it as a portrait lens?
I've been meaning to get a good portrait lens for a while now and figured
the 50 or the 135 should do it.

thoughts?
5DMKII - 60D - Canon 27-70mm - Canon 10-22mm - Canon 85mm f/1.8
580 EX II - 430 EX II

Comments

• Options
    Matthew SavilleMatthew Saville Registered Users, Retired Mod Posts: 3,352 Major grins
    edited December 16, 2011
    As a wedding photographer, I don't know how anybody gets along with a 5-series and a 1.2 lens. It's just not optimal for action. f/1.2 may sound appealing, but you'll miss so many more shots to slight mis-focus that IMO the bokeh isn't worth it. Get a 50 1.4, either the Canon or the Sigma, and spend your money on better lenses like the 135. The 135 is a real gem in Canon's lineup, I don't own it but have shot with it plenty and I love it. It's so snappy and accurate, even on a 5-series body.

I know some people are obsessed with 50mm in general, but I've personally evolved into more of a 2-body shooter, I'd rather have a wide and a tele prime like a 35 and 85, or 24, or 135, etc. Much more versatile than just 50.

But, of course that's just personal preference. The best thing you can do for yourself is to rent both lenses and try them out for a weekend. (NOT on a job!) See which focal length you like, and see how much you can nail focus on each lens. Good luck!

=Matt=
    My first thought is always of light.” – Galen Rowell
    My SmugMug PortfolioMy Astro-Landscape Photo BlogDgrin Weddings Forum
  • Options