Options

Having Trouble With Logo

alexiacalexiac Registered Users Posts: 7 Beginner grinner
edited December 21, 2011 in Finishing School
I hope I am posting this in the proper area on the forum, if not I appoligize. I'm a newbie to smugmug & am in the process of customizing my site. I'm having difficulty perfecting the final phase of my logo. I have an image that I'd like to use as part of my header, printmark, watermark, etc. However, it is a jpg with a white background. I have learned how to make the background transparent & save to a PNG but unfortunately after removing the background, the image has rough jagged edges. Also, the image is silver & fades in a couple of areas causing those areas of the image to disappear as well when changing the background to transparent. I have tried to fix these images myself using several different adobe Photoshop programs, gimp & others but cannot seem to make it look as professional as it needs to look to be on my website, photos, business cards, etc. I'm also not sure if it needs to be saved as different sizes according to what it will be used for. I'd really like to get past this issue so i can move on to different areas of my site & even order business cards with my logo but can't seem to find the means. If someone could please offer me some help I would really appreciate it!

Thanks!

Comments

• Options
    PupatorPupator Registered Users Posts: 2,322 Major grins
    edited December 21, 2011
    It sounds like your error is in the selection stage, before removing the whit background. I'd go back to that step, zoom in to the near-pixel level, and make sure that you're only selecting the right things. If you post the image, folks here can take a look and tell you the best way to get it done.
  • Options
    alexiacalexiac Registered Users Posts: 7 Beginner grinner
    edited December 21, 2011
    Pupator,