DSS #92 - Thumb & Fingers (jawsnap)

jawsnapjawsnap Registered Users Posts: 7 Beginner grinner
edited January 5, 2012 in The Dgrin Challenges
So I'm kind of new to this - I've only participated in one DSS before. But it seems that the thing to do is start a thread for your entry, so here's mine.
I got a few :dunno comments in the entry gallery. Does anyone see the 'illusion'? I meant for it to be pretty subtle at a glance. I'd be happy to explain, but I thought I'd ask first...

2011-12-13-Thumb-and-Fingers-S.jpg

Comments

• kwickerskwickers Registered Users Posts: 310 Major grins
    edited December 21, 2011
    Welcome, Looking forward to seeing more of your work. I did not get this illusion because I am not sure what I am seeing. It looks like a mirror is there but what am I missing?
    Photos.KeithWickersham.com
  • GretaPicsGretaPics Registered Users Posts: 373 Major grins
    edited December 21, 2011
    Hi - Looks to me like a thumb rising up out of possibly a mirror, but it's a pretty subtle illusion overall. Since I'm not one for creating these things myself I don't think i can comment on how to make it an illusion standout for the challenge. Good luck, GP
  • jawsnapjawsnap Registered Users Posts: 7 Beginner grinner
    edited January 4, 2012
    So yeah, it's sort of a mirror. It's a platter from a 3.5" hard drive, which are awesome because they are ridiculously smooth - no comparison to a regular glass mirror. I stuck my thumb through it for the photo.
    I thought it looked interesting because from a distance it looks normal, but if you pay attention there's obviously something strange going on. Anyways... til next time...
  • JennJenn Registered Users Posts: 1,009 Major grins
    edited January 4, 2012
    jawsnap wrote: »
    So yeah, it's sort of a mirror. It's a platter from a 3.5" hard drive, which are awesome because they are ridiculously smooth - no comparison to a regular glass mirror. I stuck my thumb through it for the photo.