Reflecting on color - some opinions ?

vandanavandana Registered Users Posts: 373 Major grins
edited February 20, 2006 in The Dgrin Challenges
I am quite new to Digital grin, and "trying to get the most of dgrin" ! Am struggling between these shots for ch 50. I just withdrew my previous entry. the shots there are so good, that I've to try again! Please do comment and critique.If they are crappy, feel free to say so - it will hurt, sure...but I'll live :)
thanks a lot in advance.
these were all taken yesterday late afternoon - ducks on the lake with refelctions of fall colors..

41772212-M.jpg

the 2nd seems less crowded, more focused, but less abstract ? confused...

41772206-M.jpg

then again, this one ?

41772200-M.jpg

Comments

• DeeDee Registered Users Posts: 2,981 Major grins
    edited October 27, 2005
    OK I'll try
    I love the vivid color reflections on the water! I can see why you were attracted to them, I'd be shooting a card full of that gorgeous water :):

IF it's possible to go back, bring some kind of food for the ducks... this will entice them to swim toward you -- if they are anything like our ducks and geese-- that is.

I think the duck needs to be closer to you to offer some visual interest, and preferably looking at you or interacting with you in some form. Not to say I haven't seen some great "duck butt" shots. But by introducing the ducks to the beautiful reflections you have the two elements sort of fighting each other.

Of course the ultimate shot would be a duck in flight coming in for a landing and disturbing the reflections... but we won't go there :D

Another thing that might help would be maybe some colored leaves floating in the water on it's surface which again, would give you a "subject" and add interest to the reflections.

Does this help at all?
  • vandanavandana Registered Users Posts: 373 Major grins
    edited October 27, 2005