Options

2012 Rookies through Masters...

M38A1M38A1 Registered Users Posts: 1,317 Major grins
edited January 6, 2012 in Street and Documentary
I'm no expert, not a professional, nor have I had a camera around my neck for as many years as some. I've not traveled the world, visited exotic places, served in the military or studied the "masters" more than the links presented (which are appreciated). Yet one thing I do know - Street/PJ is the only sub-forum on Dgrin which is not fun to visit anymore. Every other sub-forum is upbeat, fun, and energetic. This area however has turned into a street fight.

Street/PJ appears to be the only sub-forum which the majority of comments focus on a critique. Where is this printed in the birdseed that every image posted has to have a critique? Can't everyone just accept the fact that some post here because they are proud of their shot within the wide and varying definition of Street/PJ? I think we all have a good idea of who's capable of what, who has learned, who has grown and developed a style, as well as those who are continuing to grow and develop. I think the majority of people understand the differing skill levels, and encourage growth which, in my opinion I can see in many of us. Yet there are some who don't recognize the difference between those just starting out and those with decades or a lifetime of experience.

I don't shoot award winning images, but I try to do what I can at my skill level - which is quite apparent not on the same level as others. Yet the continued pounding as if we are all rookies instead of the "professionals" or "masters" has run a lot of us off. Those who have been here for some time know who's left the party as a result. Some here simply fail to recognize there are differing skill levels and interpretations of Street/PJ.

This corner of the world almost requires a suit of armor to play.
Kudos are good.
Constructive criticism is good.