Options

Camera Focus

GregSDGregSD Registered Users Posts: 3 Beginner grinner
edited January 18, 2012 in Technique
Hi All-

I would love if someone could help me out with a focusing issue I am having. I am not a professional photographer by any stretch, nor am I trying to be. My photography consists of taking photos of my kids.

I use a Nikon D5100 and have recently purchased the 50mm AF-S 1.8g prime lens. I have started to notice the focus on some of the pictures seems off.

Here is a picture I took today, where my focus point was on his nose. Now I usually try and focus on one of his eyes, however I feel this photo best illustrates the issue I am having. When I open the file in Nikon ViewNW 2 it, shows the focus point his nose. But the nose is clearly out of focus. My focus mode on the D5100 is AF-C (continuous-servo AF) and AF-area mode is single-point AF.

ISO 200
1/160s
f/4.5
50mm AF-S 1.8g

Here is the photo out (shot in RAW, exported as jpeg)
Image removed

Here is what View NX 2 told me was my focus point
Image removed

Here is what looks like is in focus to me
Image removed

Any suggestions would be great. Ideally I want to rule out a focus problem with the camera or lens. Again, I usually focus on the eyes, however I thought this particular picture showed the issue the clearest.

Thank you for your time,
Greg

Here is what

Comments

• Options
    pathfinderpathfinder Super Moderators Posts: 14,696 moderator
    edited January 16, 2012
    Welcome to dgrin, Greg.

I agree that it looks like your camera is focusing behind the intended selected area for AF with your 50mm f1.8